Snowmobile FAQ

Snow, baby, snow! If the weather forecast has you feeling like Elsa from Frozen, you’re probably getting pretty excited about trails potentially opening in just a couple weeks. If you’re new to the sport or just not sure on some items, we have the answers to all your pressing questions. Here are some of the most frequently asked questions.

  1. What do I need to be able to ride in New York?

You must be registered in New York State, even if you’re from out of state or our of country, unless it’s one of the days NYS waves registration requirements. You also need liability coverage on the sled. You do not need to join a snowmobile club, however it is recommended as it takes your registration fee from $100 to $45!

  1. How much insurance is needed?

You must have liability insurance that provides coverage for any one person sustaining injury or death of at least $10,000 and for two or more persons involved in an accident of at least $20,000 and at least $5,000 for damage of property of another. You must carry proof of insurance with you.

  1. Where can I ride?

New York State has a pretty great trail system, with over 10,000 miles of designated and registration supported trails.

  1. What do I need to wear?

New York State law requires you to wear a DOT approved snowmobile helmet. Helmet fit is very important, so if you’re not sure, ask a salesperson to help you find the right size. Other than that, you should wear warm clothing like a snowmobile suit or jacket and pants. Boots and gloves are also recommended.

  1. Does Appolson’s rent snowmobiles?

No, we do not rent any vehicles.

  1. Do I need to take a safety course?

Any person over eighteen may operate a snowmobile on lands where public snowmobiling is allowed without taking a snowmobile safety course. Kids 10-14 years old may operate a snowmobile when they have a safety certificate and are with someone over 18 years old. Kids 14-18 years old who have their safety certificate may operate a snowmobile as an adult on lands where snowmobiling is permitted. There’s even an online course you can take!

  1. Is there any required safety equipment for the sled?

You need a working headlight, tail light, brake light, and working muffler system.

Advertisements